Enigmatic Code

Programming Enigma Puzzles

Enigma 1292: Naturellement

From New Scientist #2450, 5th June 2004 [link]

Susan Denham‘s recent Enigma “Natural Numbers” prompted me to look for a French version. Once again I have assigned a number to each letter of the alphabet and the numbers, which are not all different, include negative numbers, zero, positive numbers and fractions.

I can tell you that:

U + N = 1
D + E + U + X = 2
T + R + O + I + S = 3
Q + U + A + T + R + E = 4
C + I + N + Q = 5
S + I + X = 6
S + E + P + T = 7
H + U + I + T = 8
N + E + U + F = 9
D + I + X = 10
O + N + Z + E = 11
D + O + U + Z + E = 12
T + R + E + I + Z + E = 13
Q + U + A + T + O + R + Z + E = 14
Q + U + I + N + Z + E = 15

Please send in S + A + I + N + T + T + R + O + P + E + Z.

Note: I am waiting for a phone line to be connected at my new house, so I only have sporadic access to the internet at the moment. The current estimate is that the line will be connected at the end of September 2014.

[enigma1292]

4 responses to “Enigma 1292: Naturellement

  1. Jim Randell 19 September 2014 at 6:25 pm

    I used the SymPy symbolic maths library to solve the simultaneous equations for me.

    This Python program runs in 487ms.

    from sympy import symbols, Eq, solve
    from enigma import printf
    
    (U, N, D, E, X, T, R, O, I, S, Q, A, C, P, H, F, Z) = symbols(tuple('UNDEXTROISQACPHFZ'))
    
    eqs = (
      Eq(U + N, 1),
      Eq(D + E + U + X, 2),
      Eq(T + R + O + I + S, 3),
      Eq(Q + U + A + T + R + E, 4),
      Eq(C + I + N + Q, 5),
      Eq(S + I + X, 6),
      Eq(S + E + P + T, 7),
      Eq(H + U + I + T, 8),
      Eq(N + E + U + F, 9),
      Eq(D + I + X, 10),
      Eq(O + N + Z + E, 11),
      Eq(D + O + U + Z + E, 12),
      Eq(T + R + E + I + Z + E, 13),
      Eq(Q + U + A + T + O + R + Z + E, 14),
      Eq(Q + U + I + N + Z + E, 15),
    )
    
    for s in solve(eqs, dict=True):
      r = 0
      for x in (S, A, I, N, T, T, R, O, P, E, Z):
        v = s.get(x, x)
        printf("[{x} = {v}]")
        r += v
      printf("S + A + I + N + T + T + R + O + P + E + Z = {r}")
    

    Solution: S + A + I + N + T + T + R + O + P + E + Z = 33.

    We can’t work out the actual values of all the letters, but we can determine their values in terms of T and Z.

    In the required sum the coefficients of T and Z turn out to be zero, so the numerical value of the sum can be calculated.

  2. Jim Randell 16 November 2014 at 4:15 pm

    Here’s an LP solution using the same PyMathProg code I used for Enigma 1278. It runs in 52ms.

    import pymprog
    from collections import Counter
    from enigma import printf
    
    # the equations
    eqs = {
      'UN': 1,
      'DEUX': 2,
      'TROIS': 3,
      'QUATRE': 4,
      'CINQ': 5,
      'SIX': 6,
      'SEPT': 7,
      'HUIT': 8,
      'NEUF': 9,
      'DIX': 10,
      'ONZE': 11,
      'DOUZE': 12,
      'TREIZE': 13,
      'QUATORZE': 14,
      'QUINZE': 15,
    }
    
    # labels for the equations (in a sensible order)
    KEYS = sorted(eqs.keys(), key=lambda k: eqs[k])
    
    # count the letters in each equation
    n = dict((k, Counter(k)) for k in KEYS)
    
    # target
    t = Counter('SAINTTROPEZ')
    
    # create the model
    p = pymprog.model('enigma1292')
    
    # find a multiplier for each equation
    x = p.var(KEYS, 'x', float, bounds=(None, None))
    
    # constraints (one for each letter)
    for k in sorted(set().union(*KEYS)):
      printf("[letter = {k}, target = {t}]", t=t[k])
      p.st(sum(x[i] * n[i][k] for i in KEYS) == t[k])
    
    # solve the problem
    p.solve(float)
    printf("[solver status = {s}]", s=p.status())
    
    # output the answers
    r = 0
    for k in KEYS:
      m = float(x[k].primal)
      v = eqs[k]
      printf("[equation: {k} = {v}, multiplier = {m}]")
      r += m * v
    printf("result = {r}")
    

    The multipliers it finds are:

    (3/2)×[1] – 2×[2] – (1/2)×[3] + (1/2)×[4] + (1/2)×[6] + [7] + (3/2)×[10] + (1/2)×[11] + (1/2)×[12] + (1/2)×[13] + (1/2)×[14] – [15] = 33.

  3. Hugh Casement 26 November 2014 at 10:04 am

    The French for 13 is treize. I know it makes no difference to the letters count, but I still think words should be correctly spelled.

Leave a Comment

