Enigma 293: Red is not a colour
From New Scientist #1441, 31st January 1985 [link]
Yesterday, a red letter day in our local club, was the occasion for the single-frame final of our annual snooker tournament. This climactic “Battle of the Titans” began with much canny safety play — but there were no scores until a stunning table-length red opened the balls to a useful break. The suspense mounted thereafter as successive visits to the table resulted in breaks which totalled just one point more than the (opponent’s) preceding break. I remember that all 15 red balls (scoring one point each) were potted singly, and every red was successfully followed by a nominated coloured ball. No penalty points were incurred and the frame was not ceded prematurely.
Once again, Roland Cannon took the winner’s cup. Rusty Abacus, our referee and official marker, gave a little presentation speech; referring to the recent final, he remarked that all the coloured balls potted in association with red balls had been potted the same number of times as the points value of the particular coloured ball. Then the blue ball (say) would have been potted five times in all.
Roland also won the medal for the highest break of the tournament. This was his reward for a gallant 22-point clearance which snatched the victory in his quarter-final battle.
Note that the potting sequence/points value of the coloured balls is: yellow/2, green/3, brown/4, blue/5, pink/6 and black/7 points. Also, the club rules committee insists that when a player has a lead of eight points or more after the final pink has been potted, then the final black ball must not be played.
What was Roland’s total score in that final frame?