Enigmatic Code

Programming Enigma Puzzles

2016 in review

Happy New Year from Enigmatic Code!

There are now 1,028 Enigma puzzles on the site (plus a few other puzzles). There is a complete archive of all puzzle published from January 1979 to September 1986 and also from May 2001 to December 2013, which is about 57.5% of all Enigma puzzle published in New Scientist and leaves around 760 puzzles to add to the site.

In 2016 I added 105 Enigma puzzles to the site (as well as a puzzles from other sources). Here’s my selection of the ones I found most interesting to solve this year:

Older Puzzles (1985 – 1986)

Newer Puzzles (2001 – 2002)

Other Puzzles

I have continued to maintain the enigma.py library (in particular I added some routines to help in solving football problems with letters substituted for digits in score tables, and for solving general Alphametic problems). I wrote up some notes on the solving of Alphametics using Python here and here, and the SubstitutedExpression() class in enigma.py can now be used to solve many Enigma problems directly.

Since switching to posting puzzles on Monday and Friday I have also added Wednesday Bonus Puzzles, which are posted on Wednesdays (naturally), if I have the time. Unless there is a particularly interesting puzzle that’s caught my eye that week I will alternate posting Tantalizer (set by Martin Hollis) and Puzzle (set by Eric Emmet) problems, which are the predecessors of the Enigma puzzles in New Scientist. (Although Eric Emmet seems to like puzzles involving substituted addition or division sums, and football problems a bit too much for my liking).

Thanks to everyone who has contributed to the site in 2016, either by adding their own solutions (programmatic or analytical), insights or questions, or by helping me source puzzles from back-issues of New Scientist.

Leave a Comment

